Blessed in the mourning

God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted. Blesses.

He blesses those who mourn. How did I miss that one? How did you miss that one?

Blesses. Not judges. Not pities. Not tells you to get up and get it together, already. Not offers you empty advice. Not tires easily of … He blesses those who mourn.

There are a lot of extremes in this spiritual life. There are those that can’t recite ‘be thankful in all things enough.’ And it’s a good one. I’ve clung to that one in dark days and tear-filled nights. It’s not less true than this verse from Matthew.

This Bible is a big word of truth. We don’t get to pick and choose what’s true. And yet, there is a season for everything and sometimes. Some days. We mourn. And it’s okay.

In the Christian walk there are times we try to skip right over the mourning. We recite Romans 8:28 (I’ve been known to repeat it 545 times in a row in a pinch) and we look at Easter Sunday. There is hope in our mourning. We are comforted beacuase we know He is risen. We are comforted because we have genuine authentic hope.

But, we have pain. Pain and hope can live together. Mourning and faith can live together.

God made us with these fragile hearts. He made us with vulnerable spots and a crave to connect to others. He gave us a body that will not last for eternity. He gave us hearts capable of breaking.

And so when yours breaks, when the body fails, when the soul feels crushed — it doesn’t make you less faithful. It makes you human.

We were created with an ability to mourn. Our makeup is ripe for hurt. It’s the nature of being human. Without the possibility of hurt, without the risk of pain … there is no possibility of love. Deep, abiding, cuts-to-the-heart love.

And so in this life we will mourn. This morning on my heart is a dear woman of faith whose health is suffering. She is not alone. There are droves of women in my facebook feed battling cancer, in my phone messages fighting the hardships of life and marriage and motherhood.

We bring comfort and we bring hope and we let people mourn. We get right in this messy life with them. We don’t’ walk around the pain. And we don’t fix it. That’s God’s job. He’s got it.

We let people mourn without pity, without judgement. We join them with light-filled eyes and open hearts. We bring them the hope. We sit with them in the dark. We pray for them AND THEN LET THEM KNOW WE DID.

We tell them what we’re going to do for them and then ask if that’s okay. I have friends who know how to do this. They are teaching me. I’m not the best. I ask: what can I do for you? But, do I make a way?

Today, make a way to comfort those who mourn. Right where they are. Without judgemnet of where they’ve been, without that fast forward button headed to thankfulness.

Bless them by being the hands and the feet of the ultimate comforter. He’s already got them.

11088629_10153685853024056_588434049508508655_n

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

