Moments

20120720-111132.jpg

Under the Tuscan Sun moment

This morning I was laying on the floor of our living room covered in pillows. Wilder was laughing. I was laughing. It was one of those moments. I call them Under the Tuscan Sun moments (like Sandra Oh dances with her new baby all in white as Diane Lane gazes on … ).
Moments of pure joy. They are made possible by two things: letting go of the past and ignoring the future. It’s a rare combination and it’s the only way to truly live in the moment. It’s something Wilder has taught me.
Not long after our little moment I got an email from gotandem.com (Go there immediately. You won’t regret it.) about spending so much time looking back and looking forward.

What is the point of achieving anything at the cost of your life?

The email and that quote articulated what I’ve been sensing for some time.
That life is about far more than what we achieve. Worth isn’t measured in how many pounds I’ve lost post baby, how clean my house is (thank God or I’d be looooow on that totem pole), my job title or even what kind of hair day I’m having (yesterday I’d have been bankrupt if that were the case).
As an over analyzer I could easily spend my entire life lamenting my past and/or obsessing about my future. Truly living, I’m learning, is about doing what I can in the moment.
My childhood preacher (big props to the awesome Jim Lagrone) often said “this is the only (insert date here) you’ll ever live …”
So, today is the only July 20th (I think it’s the 20th???) I’ll ever get. Instead of living between the past and future I’m going to live in the now. Right now that means feeding Wilder and maybe laying on the floor with a pillow on my head.

20120720-111123.jpg

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moments

  1. ashlee says:

    you read my thoughts! cherish every moment…they grow so so fast

Leave a Reply

