I’m a mom

20120516-112121.jpg

We have a baby!! Only recently have I stopped with my daily “we have a baby?!?” thing to Daddy Bedgood, which I’m sure he’s relieved about. He’d always look at me like I was completely insane like I’d just announced with surprise that we were married (frankly, sometimes I’m still a little surprised that I’m somebody’s wife if we’re being honest).
And so, on my first Mother’s Day I found it hard to feel like a mother. There was no shortage of thoughtful cards and gifts, which made me happier than most people admit materials things should make them feel. But, I still feel like mommies are them not me. Being a mom is something my mom did. It’s kind of like how I always thought being over 30 was something old people did. (And that it meant flat shoes, uncool jeans and mom hair.) Then I turned 30 and realized old was more like 60.
Perhaps the reason I don’t feel like a mom or a wife half the time is because neither are what we have been led to believe they are. They are not glamorous like those photos you see of Victoria Beckham weighing 64 pounds in 6-inch heels with a whole gaggle of kids. Nor is motherhood depressing and like that never ending stream of poo diapers and spit up and overly enthusiastic Baby Einstein songs and kids screaming while you’re in the grocery store scenario your Debbie Downer friend tells you about when you’re pregnant. (yes, I’ve unsuccessfully dodged every baby body fluid and been that lady hauling a screaming baby through the store while trying to make it to the checkout without spilling everything)
It’s somewhere in between. And it’s more than anyone could ever verbalized. Or write. Or sing.
My first Mother’s Day was fantastic as far as days go. We had Wilder’s dedication at church, which was super special (tear) and family came for a visit. I cooked brisket (which tasted super special). It was a day to remember. And I realize now that motherhood is like most things in life – your very own thing. Like marriage, being a mom is what you make it. You can focus on the leaky diapers and cost of organic baby food or the toothless grins and blessing of a big (huge enormous hulk like) boy that loves to eat.
My mother and mother-in-law have both best articulated the truth of motherhood with these two gems.

“There’s nothing like it.”

And

“Someone else can do (insert something you think is super important here). No one else can be Wilder’s mom.”

I can say for certain there’s truly nothing like being Wilder’s mom.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a mom

  1. Mandy says:

    I love your blog, Amanda! This was beautiful!

  2. Thanks, Mandy! Your sweet little girl that’s arriving soon will no doubt inspire you to do some blogging …

Leave a Reply

