Book it

20120404-055035.jpg

I’ve always loved to read (and not just because I got a personal pan pizza out of it – although that didn’t hurt.) There was never a shortage of books in our home. I know Wilder will say the same.
How quickly I forget what a blessing it is. Yesterday I went to the Women’s Leadership Council Luncheon for a Cause. The cause being literacy and in particular reaching the youngest children in our parish (a cause that touches me powerfully since covering the education beat a few years ago where I often reported the dire results of not reaching the youngest at risk students). At less than two years of age the disparity among children whose parents are on welfare and those college educated begins. As in two years. To say these kids start at a disadvantage is a very gross understatement.
There’s a fantastic video from BBR that touches on how hopeless life and futures are when the bookshelf is empty. The WLC funds locally the Dolly Parton Imagination Library that sends for free a book age appropriate to any child from birth to age four. What’s a book? Doesn’t seem like much when I look at the stack of books we had on hand before Wilder was even officially named and I was waddling around.
Yesterday as I watched a video explaining how very much a book a month can change the life of a child tears welled in my eyes. I saw the video before I was ever pregnant and had the same reaction then. I believed then and know truly now why it breaks my heart. I can’t imagine wanting the best for my child and not knowing how to make that happen. Choosing between the necessities and books. Knowing that in many homes not far from ours that a book is not on that necessity list.
Wilder is less than six months and already loves books. He’s captivated (my nerdy book loving heart soars!) and I am reminded that whatever struggles we face that there’s a full pantry and a full bookshelf – and my complaint box should be empty.
Go to United Way of Acadiana to donate and learn more.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

