Mommy code

OMG my LO STTN! DH and I were so happy he didn’t even CIO. If you can read this without googling anything, you get it.
If not, let me break it down for you. It’s the online message board world of mommy speak. And there are no classes. Imitation is at 3 a.m. When your DD or LO are having a Category 4 Meltdown and you’re thinking IDK! IDK!
I have yet to figure out why my husband is DH. I keep thinking Designated Hitter but that sounds more like an inappropriate fertility treatment reference. Maybe it’s Darling Husband or Designated Hottie? IDK
So for my preggie pals new to the online support system for moms I’ll breakdown the few I do know.
LO – Little One
DD – Darling Daughter
DH – Baby daddy
CIO – Cry It Out
STTN – Sleeping Through The Night
I’ll also tell you that finding a knowledgable online support system is a great thing for those late night nursing sessions, moments you want to vent to someone you’ll probably never meet and therefore can shamelessly tell how it’s really going down at your house and to ask all the random questions that arise and aren’t covered in that five pages they send you home with from the hospital (my new humidifier has a thicker owner’s manual).
The key, I will warn you, is to find a group that isn’t too judgy. Nobody wants to be judged at 3 a.m. And don’t be afraid to connect with people that may have a different parenting approach. It’s important to stay true to your convictions as a mom but it’s also amazing what you can learn from moms that take other approaches. Either way, chances are there’s some other mom out there going through the same thing as you with her LO at 4 a.m. and it’s a better alternative than CIO (for you, that is). As far as letting your LO CIO … That’s a whole other blog.

20120301-192458.jpg
Wilder was a giddy LO after he STTN last night. I explained to him how fabulous he would feel every day if he STTN. IDK if he was listening though.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mommy code

  1. you are too funny!! you have cute LO. i m going to make him a BTE fan!!

Leave a Reply

