Our first amoxicillin

20120220-192049.jpg

Wilder has his first ear infection. I suspected as much after a few days of snotty nose (the little man has turned into a mucous machine) and sneezy coughyness. Today he took two longer than usual naps (he’s been on a nap strike which is a whole other post entirely) plus super snot plus fell asleep nursing after that long nap plus felt like a firecracker hot. I (for the 33456 time in three days) took his temp and it was less than 99. But I knew he had a fever. So I tossed aside the super easy $30 forehead thermometer and dug out the old thermometer that goes either in the bottom or arm pit. 101.1 it read. In my mind it read like 101.1!!!!! 101.1!!!! but there are no exclamation points on a thermometer.
So on this fare Lundi Gras we headed to the doc office to learn our little man has an ear infection. And I am thankful. There are at least 2753 worse things he could have (I know. I have google and web md and friends with kids.).
My real reason for writing this entry is to warn about that blasted thermometer! My sister reminded me the same thing happened to her and another friend. And while Wilder hates to hold still long enough for the arm pit thermometer (I mean with the burning hatred of the fire of a thousand suns) he’s going to have to get over it. And I’m tossing the forehead thermometer.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our first amoxicillin

  1. Vickie Nettles says:

    Always go with your gut! Hope your little one feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

