First Valentine’s Day

20120214-193235.jpg

Wilder enjoyed his first Valentine’s Day today. Let’s get real – dude hadn’t a clue what day it was. He wore he ‘LADIES MAN’ onesie I felt was appropriate for the day. He recently started Mother’s Day Out (cue happy dance for this momma) and last week they sent home a note explaining they would be observing Valentine’s Day and a list of children’s names in his class along with a reminder that we are a nut free facility.
Mike and I contemplated what on earth is appropriate for a four month old to send for Valentine’s and decided we had to buy a little package of cards (Mickey naturally) even though it seemed absurd.
“I don’t want to be the crap head mom that doesn’t participate!”
We both thought it seemed silly. Yet we were powerless to resist and so last night Mike headed to Walgreens to buy Valentine cards and being the smart man he is threw in a box of chocolates for the teachers. (face it – we will be those parents who shamelessly dote on caregivers. I’ve worked in childcare and it’s really hard not to play favorites. I’m just saying if I’m honest I’d admit that the children of nice parents had a leg up. I’m just being real!)
And so I packed up Wilder’s first ever goodies last night before heading to bed. And just before I dozed off I remembered that the box of chocolates had nuts in them. Foiled! So we just have to hope Wilder’s good looks and charming personality will be enough. (And it’s on next holiday. We’ll be bringing some nut free goodness for sure.)

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

