All things all the time

Romans 8:28 has been my verse. The one I’ve clung to when I let the why?why?why? Creep into my mind.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 NIV)

Beth Moore said this verse once in a way that stuck with me powerfully and unforgettably. God says all things. Not some things some times. But everysingle thing. It’s something I learned through illness a few years ago and something I find even more important to remember in life After Wilder. Either I trust God’s word or I don’t.
It’s a lesson that’s easier said than done. Yesterday morning when I drug my tired self out of bed an hour and a half before Wilder should have woken for the day (cue laughter as we attempt a ‘regular’ wake time.) I felt certain there was a reason and soon the thoughts of my sister preparing her daughter for her procedure for tubes made my reason for waking crystal clear. God I feel sure wanted to give me that time to pray for Sweet Miss E and peace for momma. (Wilder would be sure he just wanted an early breakfast but what does he know?)
I’ve woken before in the night and couldn’t sleep until God impressed on me someone to pray for specifically and this was one of those times. There are many things and many times I wake now and will never ever know why. I hear it’s called being a mom. And I know it’s building perseverance in a way only those who love (love love love love) sleep can appreciate. And a kind of faith that can only come from leaning on Him all the time and knowing that in all things (yes, even projectile poo and sore nipples and long nights) He is working things together. All of them. All the time.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

