Soundtrack of our lives

Wilder listening to Baby Einstein. He particularly enjoys Overture to Willian Tell.
20120114-081918.jpg

I will be the first to admit I’m not a music person. I love it. But, I only know about a new band because someone much cooler told me or it appeared in one of my guilty pleasure tv shows (I maintain that Gossip Girl and Vampire Diaries have the best music.)
I listen to klove most of the time or my iPod filled with random songs. They say babies are all about routine and so I’ve been using music to remind Wilder what time it is.
When he wakes each day I do a few (no doubt fairly painfully off key) rounds of both Rise and Shine and Give God the Glory Glory and a little This is the Day the Lord has Made. Only at naps and bedtime do I sing (no doubt even more off key) Jesus Loves Me or Amazing Grace.
In the morning when he nurses I play a playlist that starts with The More I Seek You followed by Courageous (a song I have dubbed in my heart as Wilder’s song) and a slew of worship songs.
When it’s naptime and when we lotion up for bed I play It’s a Big World album by Renee & Jeremy which I love (thanks for the rec Emily). During playtime we listen to Baby Einstein which has both classic music and nursery rhymes. (FYI you can get their 100 song definitive collection on iTunes for $10!)
Our home is extremely quiet and kind of peaceful (I don’t turn on the tv during the day and work from home. I figure Wilder needs a soundtrack better than the sound of my interview questions and tapping of my keyboard.)
If you’re a music minded momma with suggestions for more baby tunes, we’re all ears. Thus far, we’re enjoying our selection. And every so often we have to listen to a little Wicked soundtrack. (He just loves Glenda’s voice I swear.)

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

