The mommy doll

There’s a little thing my sisters and I like to do where we imagine people as dolls with a string in the back and choose what their phrase would be. It’s usually more than a catchphrase – it speaks to who they are. Lately the deluxe new mommy version of the Amanda Doll would say “I’m tired … I’m tired … I’m tired.” (I think the old one said something about teasing her hair, self tanner and Chickfila waffle fries but I’m too tired to remember.)
I don’t want to be that person that complains because even more than I’m tired I’m thankful. There are 3443679 things that could be different (read difficult) that are exactly as God planned. He has truly blessed me in ways I wasn’t even smart enough to ask for blessing in.
I am trying to practice an attitude of gratitude in every single thing. It’s a refreshing exercise I’ve practiced for years. For example, instead of grumbling when stuck in traffic I remind myself how very lucky I am not to be the cause of the traffic jam because I caused a wreck (because I so have been that person and it sucks way worse to have whiplash or worse than to be late for a meeting).
Being a mom creates a whole slew of things to complain about – I was pooped on, spit up on, my nipples are sore, when was the last time I showered, my back is killing me, I’m tired tired tired, lingering baby weight. And all of these things are true. So how do I become the thankful mom and not the grumbler? Still working on it. But for now I practice the art of stopping myself to think of the alternative …
When he’s hungry and I’m sore and tired I remind myself how I’ve prayed for a big healthy baby that I can breastfeed exclusively. I’m thankful to produce enough right now, for a baby that latches and for a big hunk of baby that likes to eat.
The fine line between being real and being thankful exists though. I don’t think God intends us to be robots that never acknowledge the honest truth that stuff is just plain hard (or tiring). But He is clear that we can and should be thankful in all things. And so I’m still working on what the new mommy version of the Amanda doll will say … Stay tuned. It’s only a matter of time before she starts talking about her hair again.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

