Specifically specific

It’s amazing how specifically God answers our specific prayers. It’s something I’ve learned a lot of in recent years and even more so with a baby. There were many prayers that came before I was ever pregnant for this child and even more as our journey has continued. The challenge, I find, when it comes to this specific praying is that I not ask God for nothing more than a laundry list of very certain wants. The challenge is in praying for the specific with the acceptance that it’s His will that determines our future rather than how badly my human heart wants something.
I said all of that to say – pray for exactly what you want. The attributes of your child, the ability to conceive that child, the kind of marriage you want, the sort of friendships you desire, the job you crave. He will deliver. He always does. It may not be in the package you expected. (I have no doubt a strong marriage filled with love was the result of three years of illness I experienced that left me knowing in my heart what otherwise I may have always doubted deep down – my husband really loves me. After all, what is love if not experiencing minor surgery, a colonoscopy, an endoscopy and 245675325 doctor appointments within the first three months of marriage?)
If you’re wondering whether He can do the thing you’re asking remember He raised the dead and parted the Red Sea. I do this and find myself thinking “He’s got this.” And when I start trying to control things on my own I’m reminded that He’s got my back. Period.
When someone first told me to pray specifically I couldn’t seem to find that balance of praying for what I want and accepting His will (so I prayed about that). And I still don’t get it right at times. I’m a work in progress. And I hear He handles big projects. So I’m in luck.

20111203-034415.jpg
Just after Wilder was born after months of specific prayers for a “hearty” boy (8 lbs 10 oz) and a “manageable” labor (244314 hours and one epidural later I can think of no more apt word for the experience of my labor).

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

