And the winner is …

There’s something about milestones in life that breeds an undercurrent of competition in women. Who has the bigger wedding, the better husband, the ultimate job, the perfect baby … And, of course, who looks fabulous doing it all.
Motherhood is no different but is made more difficult by the fact that all that comparing happens when you’re in a sleep deprived raging hormone state brought about by a baby that is totally unique and a labor unlike anyone else’s. Every single woman’s journey to motherhood is, in fact, unlike anyone else’s.
And it is this thing that I’m learning most of all and want to shout from the rooftops especially to my pregnant or soon-to-be pregnant friends. You’ll get there when you get there. It may take you longer to lose the baby weight, you may not be ready to tote your little one all over town at five weeks old, breast feeding might not work out for you, your baby may scream in your face for longer than you could’ve ever imagined (watch the clock though and you’ll be pleasantly surprised it was that long). There will be amazing days when you feel like Superwoman (like when I showed up on time for Wilder’s four-week checkup with us both clean and me in full makeup) and there will be days when brushing your teeth (forget even trying the hair) is your greatest victory.

20111122-022954.jpg
Wilder snoozing after that glorious four week appointment day.

About Amanda Jean Elliott

I am a joyful believer in Jesus Christ, a mother, a sister, a writer, a maker of gluten free roux and a style editor. I love my son Wilder and the wild life that comes with a 4-year-old who has the energy of a pack of wolves. I also love naps (a lot). I love to cook and create my favorite dishes without gluten not because I'm trendy and anti-gluten so much as it makes me feel like I've been run over by a pack of wolves. I teach 5th and 6th grade girls Sunday School and have a classroom of the greatest girls I could imagine. Girls who often teach me more than I teach them. I believe these girls and many others are the spark to start a fire for The Lord the likes of which this world has never seen. I see more and more girls learning about more than just who God is ... but, learning about who God says THEY are. It is my prayer for every woman to know without doubt that we have a good good Father in heaven and whatever is not right on this earth, He will make right in this life or the next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the winner is …

  1. Sherry says:

    LOVE this post! Especially the getting to the appt on time WITH the baby AND full makeup?? Girlie I am impressed! I can barely make that happen with just me! lol Looking forward to the journey that is motherhood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

